How to create a light box

So I needed ((wanted)) a light box to take some product photography. Holding up a piece of Arches paper with one hand, a camera in the other, and making sure the afternoon sun was just right took its toll on me. [Okay, I’m exaggerating… I don’t get good afternoon sun in my new studio.] So, the idea of a light box was born. I googled how to make one and found a tutorial that I really liked at {Never} Homemaker.

I love do it yourself projects and really enjoy accomplishing them. I thought about documenting the process of making this light box, and sharing it with you (like most DIY projects I do), but here’s the thing… If when doing a project, anything slows me down, that’s a {very} bad thing. Slowing down = losing momentum… aka, losing interest. ((I’m working on finishing projects that I start… that’s a new goal of mine.)) So, when the DIY iron strikes, I’ve gotta get to work. The next best thing I can offer you is an awkward photo that my husband took of my excitement when I turned on all of the lights (I know – I look somewhat constipated – but it’s excitement I promise) – AND – share the link to the amazing light box tutorial.

Let there be light!

lightbox

I found that building the light box was more expensive than the tutorial mentioned… though that probably has something to do with the fact it was posted five years ago. None the less the light box turned out great and so have the product images that I shot using it.

Thanks again for the wonderful tutorial Ashley!!

