My creative mind

We pulled into a parking space and my husband turned off the car. Right before I could grab the handle to open my door, he asked me a question.

“What’s it like to think like a creative person?”

I froze. I sensed his sincerity and genuine concern to try to understand his wife better. Though to my surprise, I was left speechless.

I repeated the question out loud as I gazed across the parking lot and watched the sea of people entering and exiting the gym. “There’s no way can I speak for every creative person out there.” I said. “But for me…

I see details all the time… I see potential… I see beauty, I see ugliness. In plants, in people, in objects, in lines. Everywhere I look, everything that I take in, I not only see it – I experience it. There’s nothing that I take into my mind that doesn’t affect me in some way. I process colors like flavors. The juiciness of a bright orange car. The sweet creaminess of blues mixing with pinks in the warm evening sky.

All the time, I’m processing… creating… and… well, destroying.

I’m my worst enemy.

Most people are, I guess. But I think it’s different for creative people. We have a way with ourselves that can suck the very life out of us and leave us hopeless…. All over something that you might consider insignificant – irrelevant – stupid. There’s something about the struggle that makes us come to life. We need this struggle to create, but it’s also the very thing that can destroy us.”

The conversation continued in the comfort of our car discussing the uncomfortable.

My husband is very gracious, steady and logical. {All things I pretend to try to be.} Since we have gotten married he has been on a journey to understand my creative mind and he is doing a phenomenal job. How do I know? Well, because as he has asked thoughtful questions and observed me. Through his understanding, I have learned about myself and become a better person in the process.

I’ve thought about the purpose of this blog for a while now. For as long as I have blogged, I have shared about art and calligraphy and a few personal entires here and there. Though to be honest, after a long day in the studio, the last thing I want to do is sit down talk about work.

A big part of my creativity has had to take a back burner so that business can happen. However it’s time for a little change… mainly because I need to write about something other than letters and gouache… I need to write about life – the good, the bad, the ugly. Instead of writing exclusively about calligraphy, I’m going to share about what’s in my heart.

There are no more guarantees as to what you might read or see on here.

So, if you’ve ever asked the question, “What’s it like to think like a creative person?” You’ll find out here. At least for today, anyway, that’s what I’ve decided to do.

* * *

If you’ve enjoyed this post, please subscribe to my newsletter… And let the fun begin!

