We survived!

I will admit that I was a bit over zealous at the beginning of our ten day juice cleanse. I was pumped, ready to take on the cleanse head first. Riding high on the excitement of watching Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead, nothing could get in my way of making a healthy change. Like a freight train barreling down the tracks, when I get an idea stuck in my head, it’s very hard to derail me. (You can read about my naive excitement here…)

So, I was ready to give up everything cold turkey. Easing into a cleanse is for weenies. I was ready for it! Bring that ten day cleanse on!

We started the cleanse (my husband and I) and everything was beautiful. I was ready to conquer the world. Then, day two hit and my tune changed. The migraine’s started and didn’t stop for three days. Now mind you, no pain medicine during a cleanse… that would defeat the purpose. So, I toughed it out. I felt like I was in the juicing trenches of detoxing war. Would I survive?

Thankfully, I did survive. At about day six, without the use of a white flag of surrender, things got better. My energy took a nose dive, but I was okay with that. If you’ve juiced for a period of time, you are aware of the headaches, fatigue, bad breath and grouchy moods (which Daniel and I became very aware of). Experiencing these things makes you wonder what on earth is inside your body that it needs to come out in such an ugly way. Though never the less, I couldn’t have been more grateful that the toxins were leaving my body – however they choose to do so.

(A question that I got a lot was did we drink fruit smoothies? The answer is no, just the fruit and vegetable juice. When cleansing, you don’t drink the fiber from the fruits and veggies, though it is normally good for you. When you go on a juice cleanse you want your body to detox. If you were to drink the fiber, your body would take energy away from the detoxing process to digest your food. You want all of your energy to go toward detoxing, not digesting.)

I never counted, but you juice an entire farmers market for one serving. Just be aware. :)

I should have counted how many fruits and vegetables we went though. It’s like you juice entire farmers markets for one serving of juice.

Carrot, lemon, kale and beats.

Carrot, lemon, kale and beats. (Yes, that is a pilsner glass in the background. When you drink juice 5-6 times a day you have to get creative and liven things up, and a Pilsner glass provided that excitement.)

The colors that come from fresh fruits and veggies are beautiful. God makes amazing things.

The colors that come from fresh fruits and veggies are beautiful. God makes amazing things.

This piece of pear didn't fully get juiced. I pulled it out and loved the lines that were carved into it. The thought did cross my mind to make a stamp out of it, but seeing how it would rot - that put a damper on things. So, I just stamped a napkin.

This piece of pear didn’t fully get juiced (obviously). I pulled it out and loved the lines that were carved into it. The thought did cross my mind to make a stamp out of it, but seeing how it would eventually rot put a damper on things. So, I just stamped a napkin.

Both Daniel and I were very thankful that we did this cleanse. We feel healthier since this cleanse and know that what we gave our bodies the an invaluable opportunities to detox. My goal is to do a three day juice cleanse every month to stay on top of things. We have also made some changes to our diets as well. In ten days I lost nine pounds, and Daniel lost twelve (naturally the guy looses more). Though we both gained a few pounds when we started eating solid foods again.

We loved our Breville and would definitely recommend it! I never knew that onion and kale would taste so good juiced (obviously you’d add other veggies). Oh, and a word of caution, if your husband gets adventurous and decides to juice a whole jalapeno, stop him if you get the chance. I didn’t get the chance and trust me, you’ll wish you did.

One of my favorite recipes: 3 green apples, 2 sticks of celery, 1 large cucumber, 1 lime & 2″ piece of ginger. Sooo good! (From Reboot With Joe – Check out that site, it has a tone of great recipes!)

One of Daniels favorites: 6 oranges, peeled (leave the white on). It tastes like an Orange Julius!

If you are unable to do a complete ten day cleanse, start with a three day cleanse. Or, if that is too much, commit to eating just fruits and vegetables for three days.*  You’ll probably be surprised how good you feel.

Cheers, to our health!

*Always check with your physician before making a drastic change in your diet, especially if you are on medication.

Leave a Reply

