A ten day adventure

Last night Daniel and I watched Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead, a documentary that follows Joe Cross as he attempts to rid his body of sickness and obesity by going on a 60 day juice fast. Not only did he succeed at his goals, he far surpassed them! As Cross travels from one coast to another, he introduces people to juicing and even recruits some people to try it with him.

Now I am usually a bit cautious about documentaries claiming this or that. However, I am already a believer that juicing is good for your body. And you can’t deny that the results shown on this movie were impressive!

Daniel and I both try to make healthy life decisions (though I do wish that Doritos could be classified as a vegetable): what we eat, drink and how active we are. The concept of juicing is not unfamiliar to either of us either. However, after watching Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead, we were inspired us to make a change. It’s time to honor our bodies and clean them out, and we believe going on a juice fast will do just that. Cross encourages people not struggling with obesity or sickness to go on a 10-15 day juice fast, or a “reboot” as he likes to call it. (Though no matter who you are, you are encouraged to talk with a health care provider first, especially if you are on medication.)

Once the movie ended, Daniel and I decided to give a juice fast a try. I started researching juicers and as soon as we found a good juicer for us, I grabbed left over wedding credit at Bed Bath and Beyond, a coupon, and headed off to the store. Please meet the newest member of our family…

photo(Please note the beautiful rays of sun and the rainbow across the box… This just has to be a good sign!!)
Naturally I was like a child at Christmas and couldn’t get into the box fast enough. I quickly washed and set everything up. I grabbed my trusty juicing recipe book, The Juiceman’s Power of Juicing, and found the perfect recipe for us. I modified the recipe slightly:
6 carrots
1 fuji apple
1 small handful of parsley (from our garden… I love eating from our garden!)
I don’t know if you have ever had fresh juice but it is, with no exaggeration, THE BEST THING EVER. As I drank the de-licious juice, I felt my body smile. (If you have ever had fresh juice you know what I’m talking about.) Juicing is so healthy and I am pumped to go on this fast! I just hope that I will be able to say that about five days into it!
photo_1
Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead can be found free on Hulu. Or, with the purchase of the above juicer at Bed Bath and Beyond, the dvd is complimentary! And take my advice, if you do go and buy a juicer, grab a bag of carrots (or two) before you go home! You’ll probably want to juice something right away. And yes, trust me, carrot juice – Yum!
photo_3
I was planning on taking a photo of the first juice, however, excitement overtook me and I drank it all.
One thing my grandmother taught me when she juiced is to always fill your empty glass with water. As you drink the water, you will get all of the nutrients left on the glass!
In ten days, I’ll let you know how it goes!
One Comment on “A ten day adventure”

  1. Paula Gast says:

    Way to go! Good for you. Literally.


Leave a Reply

