This is personal…

I really struggle with knowing how much stuff to post on a blog, or any other social media for that matter. I don’t particularly want to post a bunch of personal things that I have created or what I do. I think my personal life is just that, personal. But what is a blog about if you don’t share? (Obviously, I need to do some blog soul searching or get internet therapy.)

None the less, in the attempt to share more personally, I am jumping off the deep end… on my blog – don’t be alarmed. This piece that I painted is personal because it is not only hanging in our home but there is also a personal lesson that accompanies it’s creation.

God had been teaching me (though He always is teaching me about this I must say) that He loves me. Simple sounding? Absolutely. Difficult to accept? Absolutely. To know that the God of the universe loves me, without me winning his love, is not only crazy it’s also countercultural. In the midst of all my shortcomings, in the midst of my successes, no matter what the journey may bring (attitudes and all)… He loves me.

I’ll be honest, if I was treated like I treat the Lord sometimes (ignoring Him or not giving Him the respect He deserves), I would “defriend” me – fast. But thankfully He never gives up on me because – you guessed it – He loves me… and He loves you.

His love is selfless, kind, forgiving and constant. And the kicker, I am called to extend that same crazy love to others… no matter if I like a person or not. (Don’t tell anyone that I just said that.)

Are you starting to see why this lesson is so important for me? 🙂 So, here is why this is so personal… because God is at work in and through my life and He is constantly teaching me about what true love is. This piece that I painted is a link in the chain of that lesson.

Title: Habibti (Arabic: Beloved)

Mixed Media: acrylic, modeling paste, salt, hot glue, contact paper, gouache & masking fluid

Inspiration: 1 Corinthians 13:1-3

Size: 20 inches x 20 inches

photo

20130423-165150.jpg

20130423-165257.jpg

20130423-165328.jpg

10 Comments on “This is personal…”

  1. Stephanie Holderread says:

    I love it!

  2. That’s beautiful Sammie!!

  3. Paula Gast says:

    Lovely!

    Paula Gast, MA

    Spiritual Growth Retreat Leader

    Christian Inspirational Speaker

    http://paula-beingtransformed.blogspot.com/

    765-284-2125

    Muncie, IN 47304

  4. Jennifer says:

    thank you for sharing, Samira! this is encouraging to me!

  5. Valerie Eenigenburg says:

    Beautiful!! Absolutely beautiful! ❤


Leave a Reply

