Spice it up!

There are so many of ‘the same’ out there: traditional place cards, traditional invitations and traditional gifts. Don’t get me wrong, I am a big fan of the traditional. I think that traditions can bring out beauty, class and romantic flair for the old world. However, if you want to spice up your wedding, or party, you can still pull in modern elements while staying connected to the traditional.

I calligraphed some place cards for a fiftieth birthday party and loved it! The client didn’t give me normal, rectangular, place cards. Instead these place cards had roses cut out in the design. These place cards matched the theme and pulled in a great personal element for each guest.

When you are planning your wedding one of the many things to think about are your bridesmaid gifts. This wonderful bride knew that her bridal party would need hangers so she customized the hangers and made them a part of her gift to them: practical meets beautiful!

People have been adding bows to their wedding invitations for years and years. However, have you ever thought about adding something else: twine, leather or even Swarovski crystals? I added Swarovski crystals to my invitations and loved how it took the feel of the invite more toward fun and funky – which was exactly what we were going for.

When it comes to spicing up your wedding or special event, there are a lot of ideas out there. Especially now with all of the “do it yourself” ideas floating around. At the end of the day, you can be as formal or funky, reserved or off the wall as you want to be. Make your event reflect the mood you are trying to create and who it is all about. No doubt that your guests or guest(s) of honor will love it!

9 Comments on “Spice it up!”

  1. Jennifer says:

    I LOVE seeing your wedding invitation! -gorgeous!!!

    did you actually write on the hangers?

    • Samira says:

      Thanks Jennifer! 🙂 Finally got to see it! (I thought of you when I was uploading it.) I was thinking about posting the entire suite…Every element is different.
      I did calligraph directly on the hangers. It was a bit more challenging than I thought it would be (of course)… But it can be done! 🙂

      • Jennifer says:

        That sounds amazing, Samira, and I’m sure many would enjoy seeing your whole wedding invitation suite!
        I loved the elegant swirls and the sparkly touches!

        Do you mind sharing how you calligraphed onto the hangers, and if you had to “treat” the wooden surface first?

      • Samira says:

        After I stopped staring at the hangers wondering where I was going to start… 🙂 I started testing different markers (I thought that they would be the best – but they weren’t!). I then moved on to nibs and that was what I ended up using. I can’t remember if I used gouache or Moon Palace (I think M.P.). I sanded the surface with a super fine sanding paper and calligraphed on the wooden hangers. After the ink was dry, I sprayed the hangers with a sealer. The whole process was pretty time consuming, but it carried with it a great sense of accomplishment!!

      • Jennifer says:

        ahhh. Very nice. Thank you for explaining the process! They turned out beautifully!

      • Samira says:

        You’re welcome… and thank you Jennifer! 🙂

  2. Paula Gast says:

    Nice!

    Paula Gast, MA

    Spiritual Growth Retreat Leader

    Christian Inspirational Speaker

    http://paula-beingtransformed.blogspot.com/

    765-284-2125

    Muncie, IN 47304

  3. Amy says:

    Oh my goodness…I LOVE those hangers!!!


Leave a Reply

