The Closing Ceremony

I don’t know how my eye lids are staying open. I went to bed after 2 am, woke up at 5 to say good bye to my roommate and then at 5:50 to catch my airport shuttle at 6:20. I feel like I am floating though the airport, half here.. It was a great conference!!

As you know, every class that I took was wonderful. I loved connecting with old and new friends and being surrounded by people who know and understand the art of lettering. I definitely milked every moment of my IAMPETH experience for all that it was worth!

Though if I had to pick one lesson that I am taking home from my experience it would be that I need to allow myself to have fun. I need to play more with my art. It is very easy for me to get in the rhythm of business and stay there. However I was reminded that if I don’t allow myself, or create time, to enjoy my art, I won’t.

Creative people need to create… Creating lets your soul breathe, laugh and sometimes cry if needed. If creative people don’t allow themselves to be creative, their creativity starts to dry up… None of us were created with gifts that weren’t intended to be used. We need to be good stewards of what we have been given.

So, I’m going to play with letters and have fun doing it! I am hoping that I stumble upon something wonderful that I can implement into my business, but if I don’t that’s okay too. I’m really looking forward to letting my spirit breathe!

And a wonderful reminder is this little piece of art work that I stumbled upon in the Atlanta airport. The drawing was created by an eight year old little girl and I think it is just fantastic!!! This drawing is a good reminder to have fun with what we do!

20120812-120137.jpg

Leave a Reply

