IAMPETH: Day 4

It’s official… I drink too much coffee… I have had about five cups today. Don’t tell anyone… But I’m still drinking coffee at 9 pm.

Today I attended Gestures of the Pen with Barbara Close.

I’m not going to lie, this class made me a little uncomfortable at first. Why? Because the class was all about being free and expressing yourself with your pen.

Let’s get one thing straight. I mainly do copperplate calligraphy. Copperplate is structured, orderly and not spontaneous. This class stretched me to loosen up and have fun… And for that, I am thankful!

Some samples from my play…

20120809-191925.jpg

20120809-192032.jpg

Though this image isn’t suppose to be legible, it is a verse from the Bible: Jeremiah 29:11. (Check it out if you don’t know it!)

20120809-202240.jpg

20120809-202454.jpg


20120809-202550.jpg

20120809-204631.jpg
Even though it was pouring today, it was so much fun walking around the city with Jennifer and Cheryl!

20120809-205635.jpg
Do you ever wonder who creates the fonts? Stephen Rapp does. Stephen is a fontographer (say that five times fast). Tonight he presented on how to create fonts and shared samples of his work. One company that uses his fonts: Trader Joes. Pretty Sweet.

Alright I’m off to meet up with some calligraphers for a critique and to work on my letter forms…. Until tomorrow!

3 Comments on “IAMPETH: Day 4”

  1. Dara says:

    Samira, I love reading these posts. I know absolutely nothing about your craft, but am amazed and inspired! Keep it up, girl!

  2. Paula Gast says:

    Good going, girl!

    Sent from my iPad


Leave a Reply

