IAMPETH 2012

I just got my hair patted down going through security…

I know, I let my hair air dry last night… I know that makes it big, like a fro – but a pat down? The fact that my hair was getting felt up by someone in rubber gloves was so weird and funny that I am confident that the look on my face was, at the least, entertaining.

The only thing in my big, wavy pony tail is a bobby pin. Though don’t get me wrong, I am all about the safety first attitude.

I am now sitting peacefully with my americano at the West Palm Beach airport. I am Milwaukee bound on my way to the International Association of Master Penman, Engrossers and Teachers of Handwriting conference…. Or affectionately called IAMPETH.

IAMPETH is an annual conference held for lettering artists from around the world. What might one do at such a conference? Well, we take classes that educate us on everything from correct posture and ways to hold our tools to new lettering techniques. Every class pushes you to learn more and become a better artist.

Each day of the conference I will be posting some photos so that you can see what a lettering conference is all about – from my perspective.

And maybe if you’re lucky I will post a picture of my fro.

3 Comments on “IAMPETH 2012”

  1. Paula says:

    Have a great, profitable time. May you find The Master’s strokes all over the place! Thanks for your great hospitality.
    Love you.

  2. i hope you post a picture of the fro. and the lettering of course.

    • Samira says:

      I actually thought about it… Then I figured after a day of travel (and a mildly traumatic one for my hair…) it might be better not to post – for everyone’s sake. 🙂


Leave a Reply

