What would Emily Post do?

Regularly I receive etiquette questions from my clients: How do I address an envelope with two married doctors? What do I do if there is a child over eighteen living with their parents? How do I address an envelope to a couple that is not married?…

There are so many things to consider when getting your guest list together for any occasion. If finding your long lost Uncle Ed’s address wasn’t difficult enough, now you have to figure out how to invite him to your wedding without offending his girlfriend.

If you have put together any sort of formal mailing, you know that etiquette matters. No one wants to offend or insult their guests. (Trust me, I’ve done it – it’s not worth any sort of shortcut.) Etiquette is here to make you and your guests feel comfortable. With that said, it is ultimately up to you what you follow and what you ignore.

Good news is that I am here to help you in your time of guest list need!

I will add posts to answer the most popular etiquette questions that I have received regarding guest list etiquette. This way, you can go into the guest list construction zone with confidence and ease.

Along the way, if you have any etiquette questions that I have not yet answered, please feel free to email me and I will answer it as soon as I can. What a deal!

A few months ago I had the privilege of meeting Peggy Post, granddaughter of Emily Post (author and expert of etiquette in society). I chatted with Peggy about her new book and shared some laughs about what happens when etiquette is ignored when it matters. Don’t let that be you!

Stay tuned on how to invite your guests with class and panache!

Leave a Reply

