The Knot Summer 2011!!

Finally it’s here… I was like a kid on Christmas looking for this magazine to hit the shelves! I would go into a Walgreens and ask them if they had the new summer Knot and they would give me a blank stare. So, quickly I followed up with, “its a bridal magazine.”

Finally, when it came out I grabbed a copy, along with some celebratory Red Vines (naturally, how could have I celebrated without them!?). As I was checking out I asked the very accommodating high schooler behind the counter if he wanted to see something cool. He looked at me, puzzled, and said yes. I opened up The Knot to “My Florida Wedding Album”, pointed to all of the photos of my work and said “that’s me! I did that!” I am sure I had the biggest, cheesiest smile plastered across my face.

The high schooler definitely didn’t really care about the bridal world but he seemed to think that my work in there was cool too, or at least he told me so.

The Knot has a “Special Florida Wedding Edition” which covers a handful of various Florida weddings. The wedding that I worked on was Emily and Caleb’s. I created a menu (though The Knot said it was “a fun font” – it is mine), along with their place cards and a funky map for the occasion.

Emily worked along side of Kelly McWilliams with Weddings By Socialites in Cape Coral. Kelly is great and I really enjoyed working with her on this wedding, and every event I get the joy of collaborating with her on. All of the ladies at Weddings By Socialites are lovely!

Kelly broke the exciting news to me about the wedding being in The Knot. So, she got a few emails like: “OH MY GOSH KELLY!!!!!! THAT IS SO EXCITING!!!!!!!!!!!” and the likes. Kelly, thanks for inviting me to be a part of this wedding!

Also, thanks to Impressions Photography in Fort Myers who captured the wedding exquisitely!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This edition of The Knot is full of great ideas, dresses (my wedding dress is in there!!), photos of real weddings and naturally some great calligraphy. 🙂

15 Comments on “The Knot Summer 2011!!”

  1. amypaul says:

    So so so cool, Samira!!! Congratulations! 🙂

  2. So glad to have your talents in The Knot, Samira!

  3. Paula Gast says:

    Congrats! That’s my girl!

  4. katie says:

    awesome!!! so exciting!!

  5. patricia josephs says:

    Congratulations Samira – that’s so exciting! Will have to pick up a copy.

  6. sarah says:

    if i lived in florida, we would DEFINITELY be going on a bubble tea date! congrats, lady!!

  7. this is so exciting! what beautiful work, Samira!

  8. doctorhopper says:

    Great stuff Samira! You’re a very talented woman 🙂

  9. Kaye Hanna says:

    Looks great, Samira! Proud of you!


Leave a Reply

