Month Two: April 27

So, I am still alive – and semi sane – two months into wedding planning.

I officially see all of my bridal clients differently now. Sharing war stories from the front lines of wedding planning builds a sense of comradery. It is entertaining, and comforting, to talk candidly with one another about the journey to the altar. All brides experience wedding planning in their own way. However, when I work with my clients (usually about 3 months before their wedding), they have some very interesting stories to share.

A story from the front lines that I get to share with you seems relatively unbelievable to me. So get this… The thing that I was stressing most about was the bridesmaid dress. Why? Because who wants their favorite girls looking like a) poo or  b) a bridesmaid (I know… I know… that’s what they are). I was looking for a cute, affordable and dare I say it – rewearable – dress, which led me to J.Crew.

Dress #1

The first dress that I found sold out in five minutes. I wish that was a joke, but it isn’t.

Dress #2

We soon realized that the second dress all the girls ordered was not exactly what I understood it to be. The dress not only ran small but extremely short. One of my bridesmaids jokingly said the dress made her look like a “hussy.” Since that wasn’t the look I was going for I went back to the bridesmaid drawing board… where I still am.

Top Seven Lessons Learned this Month:

7. For the love of sanity, don’t look at too many bridal magazines. Getting good ideas is necessary, but having too many can work against you. Find a few good sources and stick to what works for you. I recently stumbled upon the Dessy website, which I quickly became a huge fan of! The site has a ton of solid ideas, color palletes, interactive options and has a section devoted to inspirational styleboards. (I mean really – who doesn’t love inspirational styleboards!?)

6. There are sooo many wedding dresses out there that it can make your head spin! I tried on every possible dress: from floral and lace to sleek and modern. I discovered that while I appreciated many different styles and looks, there is a dress out there that will resonate with your spirit. The one I purchased was nothing like what I thought I would buy, however it was the only dress that I tried on that made me feel like a bride.  So, trust your gut!

5. Ask people for advice who are in the wedding industry. For example, I found that my caterer (Moore Fine Foods – amazing!) is a great resource to bounce table ideas off of. Chances are, your vendors have seen a lot of weddings and have some good ideas to pass along!

4. Coupons, Coupons, Coupons! (Sign up online for Michaels coupons – amazing!!) I purchased all of my table decorations half off thanks to Michaels sales and coupons!

3. The person coming to the wedding that is going to have the highest expectations of how the whole event should go is me. I need to take it easy on myself and remember that no one will remember all of the minutia that I am spinning my wheels over.

2. Dahlia, a friend of mine, gave me some great advice: “Only do wedding planning when you are excited to do it.” I know that a lot of decisions up front have to be made in a timely way, but dealing with the small details when I was in an eager mood to do so has made all of the difference! (Thanks Dahlia!)

1. I am indecisive. Being indecisive definitely does not play in my advantage – ever – especially now. So, I am pretending that I am decisive and making decisions as quickly and efficiently has I possibly can – which helps with my stress levels. You never know… maybe I will become a decision making machine! Make decisions that will alleviate your stress, it’s worth it… Pull the trigger!

Our caterer is booked.

The wedding dress ordered.

The DJ is set.

The centerpieces purchased.

Now on to month three.

3 Comments on “Month Two: April 27”

  1. Tina says:

    Yay! You are making GREAT progress – you have a lot of the big things nailed down! Way to go girl! 🙂

  2. Jerry Schaeffer says:

    Samira,

    I love your blog RE your engagement to Dan and the past posts RE wedding prep. Brings back memories of our daughter’s wedding back in 2006.

    Looks like you have it all together and things in perspective. Way to go!

    Jerry Schaeffer (Dan’s Aunt Tami’s husband)
    Aiken, SC

  3. Amanda Garrett says:

    I love reading your wedding progress udpate. It’s been 3.5 years since I was in your place, but I remember loving everything about it. I’m glad you are having a good experience with it so far. 🙂


Leave a Reply

